Day 2 Miles City Montana to Ft. Robinson Nebraska


SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

The above photos are from the sunrise as I left out of Miles City Mt. Also the 10 minutes of light sprinkles was the only rain I saw on the whole trip not bad for late October travel.   It was an amazing trip God was so good the more I travelled the more my worries melted away. As St. Paul said to St. Timothy “where does this spirit of fear from not from God!” Fear keeps us from doing so much in life, keeps us from so much joy and excitement and wonder. God said He came to give us an abundant joyful life and to set free the captives. Don’t let fears and worries hold you captive and keep you from enjoying life.

SONY DSCThis shot shows the entire town of Volborg Montana. Post office, General Store, and Dance hall all in one. Just as in frontier days in many of these small isolated towns these buildings are the heart of the community. Its where relationships are made, communities bond, and life happens.

SONY DSCThe Powder River outside of Broadus Montana. If you were a fur trapper, explorer or a cowboy on the long cattle drives from Texas you know you had reached the Montana Territory when you crossed the Powder River.

SONY DSC SONY DSC On the left is the little one room schoolhouse, many of which are still in operation throughout the west, by the roadside picnic area I stopped for breakfast. It was a pretty spot to relax. The soft ever present sighing of the wind on the high plains and the honking of hundreds of geese on a nearby pond. The geese were doing what I was doing taking a break from the trip as they made their way south before winter. On the right is the main attraction of Alzada Montana the last town in southeastern Montana before you hit the Wyoming border. Its the Stoneville Saloon who advertises cheap drinks and lousy food 🙂

SONY DSC A little abandoned church in Northeastern Wyoming where the Black Hills creep across the border into Wyoming. One observation on this trip: Far to many abandoned churches and schools in communities while the bars thrive I think it speaks to the moral and educational decline we see in our country.

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

Above our some nice pics from my stop at Devil’s Tower. Well worth the 10 dollar admission price. Truly a remarkable site and beautiful park. Awe inspiring. Met lots of nice people and took pics of a family and they took pics of me including the awesome photo bomb by the daughter! 🙂

SONY DSC SONY DSCTwo of my favorite pics from the trip. I love how the Tower looks in black and white. It reminds of scenes from the old cowboy movies I watched as a kid. I got to have a good conversation with Hans a German tourist about faith and  life in the American west. He also was learning that out west  just up the road can mean a drive of several hours not a few minutes like in Europe hehe.

SONY DSC The Pine Ridge Community Church in Wyoming’s Black Hills a more beautiful setting to worship God is hard to imagine.

SONY DSCCourthouse in New Castle Wyoming. the whole town is just that pretty take time on your trip to stop , explore, and say hello

SONY DSC SONY DSC. Ft Robinson state park Nebraska. The view from the long porch on the 2nd floor outside my room. It was beautiful and peaceful writing my daily travel journey and reading from the good book as the sun set and the coyotes began to howl. The park was closed when I got there but my reservation was taped to the office door with a warm note from the staff that my key was in the room the lights and heater were on and everything was ready for me. Bet that doesn’t happen in a big city. No one has taught western Nebraskans that you can’t trust everyone and I hope its a lesson they never have to learn. I helped an older couple who pulled up after dark when everything was closed and they weren’t sure where to go or what to do. I showed them where their reservation was taped like mine on the door and showed them where there room was. I was reading from the bible when I saw them pull up and wonder around confused. It just shows if you approach each day saying God show me how to be helpful and show Your love to someone there will be an opportunity. They were so grateful. They like me were tourists from out of state and thought everything was closed and they were going to have to drive unknown roads in the dark looking for a place to stay. Ft Robinson is a beautiful fun spot, a must visit for anyone especially with kids. More pics and info about the park in the next post.

2 thoughts on “Day 2 Miles City Montana to Ft. Robinson Nebraska

  1. I like the stories with the photos as I try to do the same. You were really picking up on the small towns. Nice BWs of the Devils Tower – that is a hard subject since it is just “there”.

Leave a Reply

