Favorite Drive though Hungry Horse Hollow


I love taking the 30 miles of dirt roads that run though the mountains between Havre and Chinook Montana. They have great names for one thing: Sucker Creek Rd. Clear Creek Rd. Hungry Horse Hollow. Crown Butte Rd. It has beautiful scenery as you run through the pine forests following the ridge line looking down at the ranches that dot the narrow valleys or dive down into the valleys following the creeks that run along the aspen groves. This is a winding sometimes narrow dirt/gravel road that runs through the mountains use some caution and common sense when driving it. Heavy rains can send those creeks over the roads, cause rock slides, and it is an open range area which means there may be cows or sheep on the road. Blaine County did a great job of clearing the wash outs and the rock slides from the flooding a few weeks ago. I do wish though they had put the following signs up so travelers could see them from both directions specifically the direction I was driving lol.

025

Personally I think this is generally bad advice. Yes if there was a rock slide already in the road driving slow would let you stop better but in most other situations driving fast is better for example:

rock slide starting to happen:  faster is better to get out of the way 😉

muddy area: slow + mud = stuck trust me just gun it and go

water over road: don’t go fast or slow turn around its just not safe

deranged animals or people: faster is better!!

zombies:  faster

I mean really if you are in a danger zone why would you want to go slow and stay in the zone longer. Silliness I say!!

It is a beautiful series of valleys and mountians

011 012 014 015 023

A great area for wildlife watching..I wish I could have gotten the pic of the largest golden eagle I have ever seen but he was over the ridge and gone before I could.

001 003 008 009 010antelope on the plains and deer among the lupine and bluebells.

Here are some of the sheep to which I had to yield the right of way too.

016 017

If you love history there is a lot of pioneering history hear and several old barns and homesteads and other items.

005 006

I love this shot of the windmill on the range. There is an interesting story to the aeromotor windmills. The company was founded in 1888 in Chicago. It is still in business today located in Texas and 80% of the windmills in the USA are aeromotor designs. They continue today with philanthropic works the founder of the company started with a trust that provides funds, scholarships, or grants to over 40 colleges and universities.

Following are some old barns and homesteads:

020 021 022 026 028

I am sure before automobiles and roads there were some hungry days for horses and men back in hungry horse hollow 30 miles from town.

The last pictures are from the town of Lloyd Montana where the general store and post office were founded in 1890 and named for “old man Lloyd” a prospector and one of the first explorers of the area.

029 030 031 033 035

 

To view my photo art that is for sale please visit:  http//:www.zazzle.com/shadowriverphoto

6 thoughts on “Favorite Drive though Hungry Horse Hollow

  1. I love these photos. I was born in and grew up in Havre, MT. I used to drive around and hike the Bear Paw Mtns. I have fond memories of driving on my dads lap and stopping to play at the d school in Lloyd. I live in Florida now,near The beaches of Destin and Scenic 30A. But seeing these photos really makes me miss the mountains I grew up in. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

